Ready to quilt and need suggestions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Ready to quilt and need suggestions

Rosie's quilt.jpg I got my Grace qzone hoop frame set up with my Janomi HD3000 last night (a story for another day) and am looking for some suggestions to quilt this project for my sister's birthday. I am BRAND new to machine quilting so I am struggling with what to do. I have a ruler foot but have not purchased rulers yet and expermented with free motion some last night. I have so many questions
    1. What are your suggestions for how to quilt this one?
    2. What color thread (the backing is a chocolate brown)?
    3. How do you handle cutting threads while quilting? my machine doesn't have that option
    I appreciate any insight and I am sure I will be back with more questions!

Have a great day!
    Attached Files

Very pretty quilt, love all the fall colors!

It depends on if you want your quilting or quilt to be dominant. If you want the quilt to be dominant I would choose a neutral color to quilt with that will blend into the fabric if you want your quilting to be dominant then choose a darker color thread so the quilting stands out.

Since you have a lot of angles in your pattern you could choose a quilt design with more soft curves or a circular design to soften it.

If you could choose to be anything choose kindness.

Visit my Flickr page, sewing and cakes!
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]/

www.pinterest.com/cathyfiebe/boards

Comment

No I can give you any suggestions because I quilt by hand but if I want to tell you that your quilt is very nice

Comment