Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Invisible Thread

Hello!

I bought some Sulky polyester invisible thread for stitching in the ditch. Is this a good one? I read an article that used it. I've never used it before. Any advice in using it? I used white thread on my baby quilt and it shows where I've veered off a bit.

Thanks!
    Rainy days are for quilting. Thank goodness I live in a rainforest! 😁

Lots of people will tell you it is easier to stitch beside the ditch than actually in the ditch and if you veer off a bit is doesn’t look like a “mistake”. I find actually staying in the ditch to be challenging so tend to stick just beside it.
    Debbie

Comment

If your machine has a "stitch-in-the-ditch" foot, it does make the job easier. As for invisible thread, I've used it many times, mostly for FMQ. My machine is a Juki TL2010Q, and I found that I had to loosen the top tension quite a lot to handle invisible thread.

Let us know how you make out.

Comment

• Hillbillyhike
        Hillbillyhike commented
        Editing a comment
        Thanks. I don't like to mess with my tension if I can help it. I'll see if I can get that foot.

Did you see the helpful hints page?

https://www.sulky.com/catalog/sub/th...ter/invisible/

You may need a thread stand. It helps prevent kinks if there is some distance as the thread un-winds.

More fun stuff here.

https://www.superiorthreads.com/

PS: I don't mess with tension settings either.

Comment

• Hillbillyhike
        Hillbillyhike commented
        Editing a comment
        Thanks Rhonda! That was very helpful. The Superior micro thread sounds interesting. Have you had any experience with it?