• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Hillbillyhike
    Missouri Star
    • Sep 2020

Quilting Beyond Stitch in the Ditch

Hello!

Since I have made the decision not to use a long armer (for my small quilts anyways) I'm wondering what you all think are some good ways to quilt besides just stitch in the ditch. I am not experienced enough at free motion yet. So far I have done stitch in the ditch, quarter inch, cross hatch and lines. Are there any that can be done without straight lines? I saw the serpentine video. I will try that. Any others?

Thank you!
    Rainy days are for quilting. Thank goodness I live in a rainforest! 😁
  • srgreene
    Missouri Star
    • Aug 2020

Morning. My quilting space is small and I prefer piecing to quilting so I've only done a couple of home machine quilting. I used Quilting Made Easy design rolls because it was simple and easy to follow. Otherwise, stitch in the ditch or cross hatch seems like a lot of folks use stencils good sewing, Sandy

Comment

• JCY
      Missouri Star
      • Jul 2013

Check that out on line. There are many things one can do with the walking foot. When you feel like venturing out, get the foot for your DSM that will allow you to do FMQ.

Comment

• Hillbillyhike
        Hillbillyhike commented
        Editing a comment
        Thanks Joy. I have that foot and have done a bit of practice. I'm just not good at it yet. I will check out online.
    • Spiff
      Missouri Star
      • Oct 2013

My go to is just a wavy line from top to bottom. This table runner gives you any idea what I am talking about. Very forgiving as you just kind of move the fabric slowly.
      You do not have permission to view this gallery.
      This gallery has 1 photos.
      Debbie

Comment

• JulieC
        Missouri Star
        • Dec 2016