Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Using a pattern for first time!

Happy Saturday!

As I wait for hubby to get up (he's sleeping in today) I am happily looking at my first fat quarter bundle that arrived from MSQC! It's Seeds of Gratitude, a Susan Winget (who I love!), Wilmington Fabrics. I have downloaded the attached digital pattern. This is my first time using a pattern and frankly my head can't seem to "Math" as well without proper sleep or coffee, which I can no longer have due to extreme GERD. I miss my weekend cappuccino!! 😩

https://www.missouriquiltco.com/vendor-patterns/788

I am going to make a wallhanging instead, since I don't want to piece the borders. I like the quilt as is. I'll just make it smaller so that the borders are the length of the fat quarters. That should work, right?

I want to construct the pinwheels the same way as I learned from Jenny. Two squares sewn together around the perimeter and cut diagonally apart to make 4 HSTs. The pinwheel unit should end up being 4.5" unfinished (not joined?) Am I correct in that I need to start with 6" squares then? The pattern has me making HSTs one by one and I'd rather not do that. I think it's quicker, easier and more accurate to do it Jenny's way.

Thanks!
    Rainy days are for quilting. Thank goodness I live in a rainforest! 😁

I think the 6 inch will be too small. I looked it up online and the formula shows an unfinished 4 inch block starts with a 6.25 inch square if you are cutting 4 hst. It shows 8 inch square for 5 inch unfinished. The formula they give shows you would start with a 7.03 inch square. My recommendation would be to start at 8 inches and trim up to what you would need. I am not as experienced with this so hopefully someone else will comment too.
    Carlie

Comment

• Hillbillyhike
      Hillbillyhike commented
      Editing a comment