Choosing backing fabric

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Choosing backing fabric

I'd enjoy hearing folks approach to choosing quilt back fabric. I'm a confident beginner and always leave backing fabric to the end when I'm sure my project works. Then I tear my hair out trying to figure out what is "right" for the quilt. I use a long arm gal to quilt. More times than not I feel like I just missed when its bound and done.

What are your key considerations? Please and thank you.

My main one is what fabric then color..i like cordnating fabric. Alot of quilters will say it doesnt matter butbi like it to go with the quilt. What I mean by what fabric is minky is a popular choice right now. Many solids go with quilts.

Comment

I also like to try and coordinate. What I haven't done yet is a solid color backing. I still prefer a backing with a pattern so it can hide my quilting wobbles. I still just do straight line quilting with a walking foot, but ........ lets just say it doesn't always come out as straight as I would like the lines to be. With pattern fabric on back you would never even I wobbled at all.

Comment

I like the backing fabric to relate to the other fabrics in the quilt. I will usually purchase the backing fabric with the others. Yes, I'm that matchy-matchy. There is always extra fabric calculated for shrinkage during pre-washing and matching the design across the pieces.

Comment

• Debbie Watters
          Debbie Watters commented
          Editing a comment
          I tend to use Grunge for the majority of my backings. If there are left over blocks - or a block that I really liked - I will incorporate that along with the left over fabric from the front. Needless to say, I like pieced backings!

• srgreene
          srgreene commented
          Editing a comment