First Quilt Fiasco

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

First Quilt Fiasco

I just finished piecing my first quilt. Unfortunately, I self taught myself with the help of videos. But somewhere I missed the lesson on ensuring every block was the right size, I just kept thinking oh I will make it up with the borders. Duhh!!! Now my quilt top is very unsquare. Should I square it up to the shortest block and then add my borders? Or should I scrap it and start over again?
    Thanks for any advice to the weary.

I would square up the blocks...and move forward. I wouldn't scrap it unless you're unhappy about the finished product. I've only ever scraped one quilt... It was hideous when I put the blocks on the design board. I cut my loses and decided not to put any more fabric in it. Borders can help square up a quilt but only a tiny bit. I always measure for borders in the middle of the quilt. so for the sides I fold the quilt in half and measure the middle from side to side if that makes sense. If you measure around the edges of the quilt it could be off. Your most accurate is through the middle of the quilt. I hope it all turns out!!

Comment

• Bubby
      Bubby commented
      Editing a comment
      Square up your blocks to the smallest size and sew them together and see what you think. Even if you don’t love it someone else will.

• JCY
      JCY commented
      Editing a comment
      Lesson learned. In the future, it will be easier to square each block as you go. Make sure your seams are consistently the same 1/4". Over the years, I've learned to use a scant 1/4" or the block size will not come out the dimensions it's supposed to. With your current blocks, you'll need to square them all to the smallest block you have. Good luck.