To Pre-wash or not??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

To Pre-wash or not??

I am a beginner quilter and can't seem to find this question addressed - When using precuts you obviously can't pre wash them - so should you pre-wash the other fabric for the quilt (background, borders) or not? I am just finishing my first quilt (Tranquil Triangles) and I didn't wash any of the fabric which may prove to be a mistake. I have already purchased material for my next quilt which uses charm squares so I would like some feedback from experienced quilters before I start it.

Hi & Welcome to the forum.
    pre washing is a personal choice but I think the consensus is to never wash precuts. Personally I don’t wash any of my fabrics before cutting. I like the sizing in them, it seems to help stabilize the fabric when I cut. Also, I really HATE ironing yardage.. lol
    that being said I ALWAYS wash the finished quilt with color catchers the first time. Most often there is hardly any trace for dyes running. In my experience Batiks are the fabrics to watch out for when it comes to dyes bleeding. But I’ve always had good luck just washing the finished quilt with the color catchers.
    im sure many others here on the Forum will chime in about their preferred methods & experiences.
    enjoy your quilting. Its a wonderful relaxing hobby
    May the road rise up to meet you...
    May the wind be always at your back...
    May you be in Heaven a half hour before the Devil knows you're dead...
    Patt :icon_wave:

Comment