Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How to hand piece a crumb quilt in the car??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How to hand piece a crumb quilt in the car??

Next month, we will be moving to Minnesota from Idaho, so that's 3 days in the car!!
    I just completed some blocks and figured I could pass some time away by crumb quilting the scraps by hand.
    Any tips? I've never done this before. I'm used to having a sewing table and a sewing machine,
    but I figured if people did this 150 years ago without any special rulers and whatnot tools, it can still be done, right?
    Last edited by quiltmom3; June 2, 2020, 06:32 PM.

What a great way to pass the time on a long car trip! Many years ago, I learned how to hand-piece using templates. No need for templates here, just sew your pieces together with a 1/4" seam (just eyeball it). I used just regular sewing thread, but ran it across a block of beeswax or thread conditioner to help keep it from tangling. I did not knot my thread when starting a seam. Instead, take one stitch and pull the thread through until there is only about a 1/2" tail. Make another stitch through the same holes as your first stitch and pull the thread through until it lays flat (don't pull it so tight that it scrunches the fabric). Then make a third stitch on top of the first two stitches (using the same holes). After you have anchored your thread as described, make a series of running stitches. After every 1-2" of running stitches, make one backstitch by starting your next set of running stitches just before where the last stitch ended. This will help "lock" the stitches in place. This tutorial illustrates the process much better than I can describe it: https://www.instructables.com/id/Hand-sewn-Scrap-Quilt/

A comfortable thimble will be your friend.

Also, welcome to Minnesota! What part of the state will you be settling in?

Comment