topstitching

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

topstitching

I am relatively new to quilting and although I have long-armed all of my quilts (rented a shop machine, then bought one!), I am never sure what to quilt. Should my stitching reflect the piecing (squares get rectilinear pattern)? the theme (flowers for a girls quilt)? contrast to the pieces (curved piecing gets straight lines)? Help!! I am interested in anything but stitch in the ditch and would love to hear your thoughts/experiences. TIA

Knowing what to quilt onto a quilt is always the major question for me. My skills are limited so that is one decision done but I do tend to try and fit the quilting to the quilt. I like something curvy on straight piecing, flowers on flowery fabric and my all time favorite is paisley. I have quilted sunflowers onto a fall quilt and cotton bolls onto the Bonnie Hunter design Roll Roll Cotton Boll.
    Hope my rambling is a help and welcome to the forum.

Comment

I'm not one to give advice on this except to study a little bit. I think if your doing a quilt like a D9P and it has baseballs in it, it really won't matter much because those prints are going to swallow anything you do on it. On the other hand take a look at these customized ones. They almost seem easier to me because you can play inside the empty spaces, like doodling.
      https://www.bing.com/images/search?q...ng&FORM=HDRSC2

in Hawaiian quilting they pretty much only do one design. Echo

echo.jpg
      🌺 Lorie

Comment