Question on putting quilt together

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Question on putting quilt together

]Hi, I'm new to the quilting world, so much fun !!
    My question is how do you put the 3 layers of quilt together
    and have it tight without a quilt frame ? Tried laying on
    floor but that just isn't tight enough. All help will be appreciated.
    Thanks, Sue

Re: Question on putting quilt together

Watch the tutorial about the baby quilt Jenny does. That will tell you about putting it together to get it ready to quilt. If you quilt it by hand and don't have a frame, you can start in the middle of the quilt with a hoop to keep the part you're working on taunt. Then work your way out from the middle. Or take it to a quilt shop that has a long arm and have them do the quilting. Some places teach you how to use the long arm and you can rent the machine and do it yourself. You have to go there, they don't let you take it out.
    Hope that helps somewhat.
    Home, where each lives for the others and all live for God! ><(((((o>

Comment

I use basting spray to keep it altogether but I do have to do it on the floor. The last one I did took me forever to get it all straight so the next time I am going to try to find someplace that will let me use a space with some tables. The LQS near me used to over their backroom if it wasn't in use but they closed. This is a very good question so I will check to see what others say about this.
      Thanks for asking!
      Patti
      Patti
      "Like" me on Facebook @ Sweet Cherry Quilting to help spread the love of all things crafty and quilted!

Comment

Originally posted by patticakes View Post