Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New Quilt Project Advice Needed Please

Hi Ladies!

I was so excited when I got my new Easy Dresden Tool and my first charm pack from MSQC that I just had to try cutting out the plate wedges. So I made the 5inch wedges like in Jennys Dresden tutorial and sewed them together. I then had to decide on what to do for the center of the flower. I picked out some fabric from my stash and decided to try this product called "Texture Magic" which results in a cool textured pattern on any fabric you apply it to. You have to pattern stitch or stipple a sheet of texture magic to the wrong side of your fabric, then apply steam to cause the fabric to shrink by 30%. The shrinkage is what creates the ridges and textured effect to the fabric. You then cut out whatever shape you need the fabric in to apply to your project. This is my first time using it but I think it might work great for small areas of applique that can be added to a quilt.

FLOWER CENTER USING TEXTURE MAGIC.jpg

So after I had my flower made, I thought I needed a color separation between my flower and the intended background material (a sunny yellow fabric), so I decided to cut out a piece of white fabric by outlining the shape of the flower but making the edges scalloped. My original plan was to have each flower point centered in the middle of each scallop point, but after cutting and pressing the white fabric I must have stretched it a little or did poor cutting because my points did not match up. So I just rotated the flower so that the flower points were placed in the valley of the scalloped edge instead. Its not perfect and I had to trim some of the scallops to be a little more uniform but I think it might work.

DRESDEN FLOWER WITH WHITE SCALLOPED BACKING.jpg