Rotary cutter help.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Rotary cutter help.

As you all know I am a newbie at quilting......so i bought a Fiskars rotary cutter and for the life of me i can not get it to cut my fabric...but it will cut paper lice cake. So I hope you all know what im doing wrong!

Re: Rotary cutter help.

Hey Nicole I'm new at this too but what I found was it takes alot of pressure. In one of Jenny's tut. she tells herself to press harder. Hope this helps keep trying you'll get it.
    Saundra

May your troubles be less and your blessings be more and nothing but happiness come through your door! God bless the USA!:icon_wave:

Comment

Nicole, I had alot of trouble with rotary cutting as well.
      Are you starting with the blade off the fabric?
      It does take some pressure, more if your fabric is doubled or folded 2x or more. I personally don't like my fabric folded any more than just selvedge to selvedge, but sometimes it's necessary to fold it more.
      Always have a different blade for fabric and paper!
      I recently learned how important a new blade can be! I was having a terrible time cutting fabric, but was trying to be frugal and use an old blade for much longer that I should have. Now that I have put on a new blade it's like a hot knife thru buttah! LOL I used a JoAnn's coupon and bought a 5 pack!
      Try lifting up on the handle part of your rotary cutter, they seem to work better at an angle rather than at the same level as the mat. This also helps to put a bit more pressure on it.
      Here's a link to a YT video. There are many out there, but this is one to get you started. I do have to say I would never cut my fabric as wrinkled as hers is, and I don't like to flip my fabric after straightening the edge, but that's just my little pickiness....LOL
      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1ebyZ...eature=related
      Lola
      :icon_wave: http://s178.photobucket.com/albums/w278/josews_photos/

Comment