please explain the difference between fabric companies

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

please explain the difference between fabric companies

OK, here's a big question: I'm relatively new to quilting (past 2 years). I would love to know the difference between all the different fabric companies - do they all have lots of different designers? I know, for example, that Kaffe Fassett designs for Westminster (or is it Rowan?). But that's all I know. Tell me all you know please!

Re: please explain the difference between fabric companies

One way to research this would be to go to the websites of the fabric companies. There you can get an idea of how many, and what type of designers they each have Welcome to the forum!

Comment

One difference is in their pre-cuts. Sizes may differ. Some do not pink their cuts ~ others do. Sizes of pinked precuts also differ ~ some (like Moda) measure from the outermost edge and others measure from the deepest part of the pinking. That's one of the reasons I never mix precuts from 2 different manufacturers.

And I also measure every precut to know exactly what the dimensions are

I also recommend what Songbird said - check out the manufacturer's sites. You can see their designers there.

And welcome to the forum!
      Judy, USMC
      Last edited by Judy, USMC; January 24, 2017, 07:04 PM.

Comment

The companies have a style of their own too. Some are real graphic and others are soft and pretty. Then there is Kaffe Fassett in a world of his own.
        🌺 Lorie

Comment