sewing machine help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

sewing machine help

I am very new to sewing. I'm enjoying it very much. I've also taken several quilt classes. I was in the process of making a rag quilt for a friend for Christmas and my sewing machine started doing weird things. It's an old JCPenney model from like 30 years ago. Yes, I know I need a new one and I'm giving it some serious thought.

Anyway, it was sewing fine and then all of sudden it seemed like the tension was off. Adjusting it didn't work. The bobbin was getting low. I filled a new one and started using it and it seemed okay. Now I'm starting to put together my squares. The first 4 or 5 rows were fine. On the next one when I flipped it over to look at the back I can see my stitches in the seam. Almost like the stitches are a little loose. I tried giving it a full bobbin, that didn't work this time. I tried playing with the tension; that didn't seem to help either. Any ideas of what I can adjust to correct this? I'm really a newbie when it comes to sewing and I don't have any clue of how to fix this. I still have 3 rows to assemble, then all the rows have to be sewn together. Not to mention snipping the edges and washing it. Hopefully all by Friday!!!

Thanks.

Pam

Re: sewing machine help

Is your thread the same weight on top as in the bobbin? Sometimes tension can be off with different weights. New needle maybe. Is it still loose if you shorten the stitch length?

Comment

Definitely try a new needle.
      Lori

http://sewtimeforme.blogspot.com/

Comment

I'm off to try a new needle right now!!!!

Comment

You might have fuzz and lint in the bobbin area. Take the bobbin out and clean the area with a small brush.
          "I'm putting together a list of 100 reasons why I am NOT relentless!" - Sue Heck, The Middle

Leonard: For God's sake, Sheldon, do I have to hold up a sarcasm sign every time I open my mouth?
          Sheldon (intrigued): You have a sarcasm sign?