Bobbin Filling Chaos

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Bobbin Filling Chaos

I've been sewing a long time, and this sounds like a question a total newbie might have, but here it is:
    I have a Singer S16. I am using Aurifil 50 thread.
    The thread cap for my machine doesn't seem to fit very tight, and has built in stoppers so I can't jam it down on the thread spool. (Not that I would want to)
    The machine has a separate bobbin filler mechanism, and a spindle for a second spool of thread to use to fill bobbins, without unthreading the machine, which a task unto itself.

The Aurifil thread spool has a larger diameter hole than the spindle on the machine, so there is some wobble there.
    Lately, when I try to fill a bobbin, the spool of thread starts wobbling so bad it jumps off the spindle and throws the spool cap, and even the end of the spool across the table. I have checked and re-checked to make sure I have it threaded correctly for filling, but it seems like the thread is getting caught up and jumping, creating the wobble. It doesn't make any difference if I put the spool on with its end up or down or off. The cap always flies off if I don't hold it on, and once the cap flies off, all heck breaks loose!

On the last bobbin I filled yesterday, I found that having the end piece of the spool down, and holding it down (keeping my finger on it) as the bobbin filled kept it from wobbling. The thread unwound from the spool evenly without spinning. Shouldn't the thread just flow off the spool with out spinning much? Certainly without wobbling?
    Has anyone else encountered this with the S16 and Aurifil thread? Any suggestions? (I just stocked up on Aurifil)

Re: Bobbin Filling Chaos