Quilting Protocol

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Quilting Protocol

I'm pretty new at quilting, only a couple of years but I have run into a situation twice now and I'm hoping that maybe someone knows a rule of thumb to follow. About a year and half ago I lost a very good friend who had started 'dance of the dragonflies'. She never finished it. My sisters and I made an agreement that we would finish it and give it to the family. I finished the piecing and my sisters had it quilted and put the binding on. A couple of days ago I was given a quilt started by someone who passed and the family would like me to finish the quilt for them (I do not know the family or the woman that started this quilt). My question is: Is there a rule of thumb to follow for doing this? Do I just finish putting together the pieces the person started (even if it will make a lap size instead of queen)? Do I continue to make the rest of the blocks (that aren't put together) to make it a queen?
    Any advice is helpful!
    Gianna

Re: Quilting Protocol

Not knowing the family or the woman, as you said, I would just say no. You could be getting into something you would rather not handle.

Comment

If you don't know them, how did you come by the quilt. Talk with the person that handed it to you, and see what the expectations are? What they want, and what your fee will be. You did the other for your dear friend, out of love and respect. Yes.... you need to charge them, no matter if it is just finishing what they gave you, or completing it in to a bigger quilt. Unless you have specifically advertised, I don't quite know why a total stranger would approach you with such a request. That is how I would handle it...if you want to deal with it at all. If not politely give it back to them, and tell them you are not in the business of finishing quilts.
      Blankets wrap you in warmth, quilts wrap you in love

Marilyn......
      sigpic

Comment