New basic/beginner machine

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New basic/beginner machine

I'm considering an upgrade from $50 Brother used for basic home sewing to a $200ish machine. I was considering the Laura Ashley CX155LA but found nothing on the message boards about this machine. My current machine is bouncy at faster speeds, only has 3 needle positions and the bobbin is a pain to load. I'm new to quilting but not to sewing. And actually, haven't even started my first quilt yet, I've only sorted the jelly roll strips for my first jelly roll jam quilt. Obviously, I will start on my basic machine, but is it dumb to so quickly upgrade without getting a feel for what my new needs will be? I'm a chronic crafter, scrapbooks, cards, crochet, chances are I will just make quilts for my own home and for family members. Is there enough benefit to an upgrade immediately? My current machine only has one presser foot, Not even one for button holes, only straight and zigzag stitches although I wouldn't need much more anyway. Hoping the Amazon Prime Day sale on July 12 will have this model on sale and make my decision for me. Any advice?

Re: New basic/beginner machine

You could probably get the Brother CS6000i for under $200. It is a nice little machine, with an annoying feature of having the needle to the left when you turn it on (there is a fix for that). Another machine that has been recommended recently on this forum is the Singer S16, but I think it cost around $500.

Are you planning to machine quilt? Depending upon the size of the quilt, that can be difficult with the smaller machines, as there is not much space to the right of the needle, but the machines with a larger harp space are more expensive. You can quilt on a machine with a small harp - but there may be limits to what size quilt or the type of quilting based upon the machine you are using.