Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Singer Featherweight - 221K (4) - DOB 4th March 1953 -What is it worth?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Singer Featherweight - 221K (4) - DOB 4th March 1953 -What is it worth?

I am new to quilting and new to sewing machine collecting! Yesterday my brother gave me a featherweight. What a cutie! He said he thought it might be worth a few dollars. I have seen them mentioned by quilters on various sites. Can anyone give me an idea of its value? My brother says it works well. He used it for mending, taking in trousers etc. (his ex did not sew). It has a few wear marks on the base and the inside of the case is a little tattered, but its decals are still crisp. I am looking forward to firing it up tomorrow! Cheers Jan

Re: Singer Featherweight - 221K (4) - DOB 4th March 1953 -What is it worth?

There is only one way to find out what something is worth. Sell it, and whatever you get for it, is what it's worth. If you're keeping it, who cares, as long as you're happy with it.
    Pieced By Me! :icon_wave:

Pre-cut Yardage Chart

Comment

Congratulations! You will love sewing on a Featherweight. I have a Featherweight that was "born" August of 1947 that is in excellent shape. It has all it's accessories, booklet and box which were all in good condition. A library patron knew I quilted and kept asking me about buying her but he wanted $500 which was way above my budget. After 6 months we finally agreed to $300 plus some books I had that he could resell. In my area the Featherweight goes for $450 and up on Craigslist. When I hear someone say they found a Featherweight at a yard sale or the thrift store for $40 or $50 I want to fling myself on the floor and cry since I never have that kind of luck.
      :icon_happy:

sigpic

Comment

They do vary in price. To you it will be priceless. Congratulations, I have 2 of them. One I paid $140 and the other was $40.