Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Alot Of Questions About Fusible Fleece a and ? about Felt.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Alot Of Questions About Fusible Fleece a and ? about Felt.

I have a few projects that I want to make:
    (Goody Goody Binding kit- http://lellaboutique.blogspot.com/20...nding-kit.html .....A sewing machine cover from this tutorial from crafty gemini- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ALwwH_F1FU ......and the Bionic Gear Bag- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CHuZ81P4r-Q)

Which has me having a few questions since I haven't made any projects like these before...so Im a newbie so alot of theses questions may seem stupid :p

1. The sewing machine cover uses fusible fleece.....I probably will want to wash the cover periodically (I live near a dirt road and dust is always an issue in my house and I have allergies so when things start to get dusty I want to be able to clean them.) I don't normally prewash fabrics ever and I know it is a preference among quilters but when it comes to fusibles like fusible fleece and Heat n bond lite for "applique" type things (ill need to use the Heat n Bond for the binding tool kit) do i need to pre wash the fabric used for that??

2. I know there is difference in loftiness in fusible fleeces .... the Heat n Bond Fusible fleece sold here on msqc(https://www.missouriquiltco.com/shop...leece-20-x-1yd) Shows on the packaging high loft.....I was wondering on how lofty that is and the Thermolam Plus Fusible F. https://secure.missouriquiltco.com/s...-white-yardage ....maybe compared to warm and natural cotton batting? ......Which would you recommend low loft, high loft (difference in brands?) for each of these different projects? or is some better to use regular batting...like the binding kit and bionic gear bag?

3. After the sewing machine cover is made it has the front fabric and the fleece and no backing fabric.....does that still allow for the project to be washed?