Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

To pre-wash or not to Pre-wash (flannel charm packs)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

To pre-wash or not to Pre-wash (flannel charm packs)

I just bought two flannel charm packs from the Missouri Star website and was wondering if I should pre-wash?

I've never used flannel before and I've never pre-washed pre-cuts before either so I don't really know where to start.

I'm a little nervous about using flannel for the first time, especially since it's for a very special gift. Any tips or tricks for using it would be much appreciated.

Thanks,
    -Sal

Re: To pre-wash or not to Pre-wash (flannel charm packs)

Never wash precuts! It doesn't matter if they are flannel or not. The edges will fray and you won't have much usable fabric left. I have made several quilts with flannel precuts and I was pleased with the results after washing. I did use flannel on the back too so all of the fabrics shrunk the same. If you use a poly batting it won't shrink as much as it would if you use a cotton batting if that is what you are worried about. Hope that helps.

Comment

Thanks LCQuilts, that does help. That's what I was assuming would happen if I prewashed the precuts, that's why I've never done it before. With the quilt I'm making I have a charm pack of flannel that has a whole bunch of cute animals prints and I wanted to add some solid squares in to mix it up a bit, I'm just not sure if I should use cotton or do cotton/flannel like all the other fabric. Plus I have to figure out what fabric to use on the backing.

I'm actually going to have it quilted at my local quilt store and they will supply the batting for an additional charge.

-Sal

Comment

I agree,.. NEVER wash Precuts.... Not even flannel ones...