Thread!!!!! What to use and when?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Thread!!!!! What to use and when?

Good morning my new friends I am a newbie quilter/sewer and am so confused about the right brand of thread to use. When I bought my new H/V Sapphire I was told NEVER to use Coats and Clarks, and only to use a better quality thread like Mettler (sp) and Gutermann...however; there are a lot of "different' types of threads in each of these manufacturers...how do I know what I can use, and shouldn't use? Like, for quilting and cottons, do I use only quilting thread, or can I use all purpose sewing thread? Can I use the pretty embroidery threads on my cottons when I use my accessories stitches on my machine? If so, is it okay to use polyester, rayon, etc? So confused in Georgia! Thanks ladies!

Re: Thread!!!!! What to use and when?

Great questions! I look forward to hearing what others have to say, because all the variety of thread is confusing. I have always used Coats and Clarks for piecing and general sewing, and a heavier machine quilting thread for the quilting I do. But that is as much as I know!
    When life throws you scraps, make a quilt! :icon_bigsmile:

Comment

Im in Georgia too! I was told never to use coats and clark as well. they said thats what keeps their service dept in business. I use Guttermann. I use Mettler and Robison Anton for embroidery. I have used mettler embroidery thread for quilting with no problems but most of the time will use cotton guttermann. I think you will hear a variety on hear. it will basically boil down to what your machine likes
      Patrice

Comment

here is one website: http://quiltbug.com/articles/thread-theory.htm; http://www.quilthowto.com/All_About_..._Quilting.html
        http://www.quilting101.com/tools/thread.html

Comment