Fabric stash

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Fabric stash

I'm new to quilting and on a budget. Anyone have any suggestions on a way to build my stash of fabric on a budget. I get so sad and intimidated when I watch tutorials and blogs and they have these awesome fabric stashes. I'm scared to creat anything cause I don't want to destroy my pathetic stash of fabric.
    Please help with any suggestions. I get the deal of the day fabrics when I can wondering if there is anything else out there.

Kristin

Re: Fabric stash

I started getting a mystery FQ when I find a DD I like. It's only a couple dollars more and I get something I may not have even looked at that turns out to be pretty good.
    I know what you mean though about not wanting to cut into what you have.

Comment

Consider recycling. Check out Bonnie Hunter's Quiltville blog - she uses lots of recycled fabrics in her quilts.

Also, check you local stores for sales and always see what they have in the remnant bin.
      Donna

Comment

I recycled most of my fabric stash. Ask in your neigbourhood for mens shirts, aprons, mens cotton boxer shorts, sheets (flannel or cotton, they make wonderful quiltbacks) etc. For Christmas or my birthday I usually get a fabric gift certificate in our local fabric store.
        That way you may keep your DD's or other fabric you don't want to cut in.
        Have fun collecting and cutting up your recycled fabrics. Meanwhile I adore the hunting as much as the sewing.
        sigpicgreetings from the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg

Michèle

Comment

Don't forget to check garage sales & estate sales. There have been forum members who have found great deals on craigslist and ebay too. Your stash will grow quicker than you think.
          "I'm putting together a list of 100 reasons why I am NOT relentless!" - Sue Heck, The Middle

Leonard: For God's sake, Sheldon, do I have to hold up a sarcasm sign every time I open my mouth?