Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Inspiration from anywhere....I bought me a cat.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Inspiration from anywhere....I bought me a cat.

Just sharing.

My daughter loves Dr. Who so I need to get busy on making her a TARDIS quilt. I've seen several on the internet, but just haven't begun her version of it yet. This is a common quilt theme inspired by fandom.

But for those who don't know - I am a music teacher in the public schools by day. Recently I have been singing an old American song with kids called "I Bought me a Cat"......and today I decided that this will make a perfect quilt theme. Each block will be the different animals mentioned in the song. Look up a youtube version of the song (preferable Aaron Copland version) and you may be inspired too!
    A future fun quilt that perhaps if I make a few of these I can actually use them in my classroom in the future. FUN!

I may have also discovered my NICHE for publishing my own patterns! I already have an etsy store called Sewfeggio if I need a marketplace....hmmmmmm I'm always dreaming how to combine my love of music with quilting. Or....how to be self employed and retire from teaching in general....sigh

My brain is teaming with ideas - now can I be disciplined enough to see them through?
    Sondra J. :icon_wave:

Re: Inspiration from anywhere....I bought me a cat.

What a cute idea for a children's quilt.
    ​Robyn

Comment

Bought me a cat and the cat pleased me, I fed my cat under yonder tree. Cat goes fiddle-i-fee. (I was a music major back in the day and I love that song...) annnnd my 19 yo dd is a MAJOR Dr. Who fan (as was her momma years ago ) - so if you come up with a great pattern idea I'd love to see it!

Comment

You don't like James Taylor?
        Sometimes, when there's a raging fire,
        it's best not to try to put it out with gasoline.

"...pal carajo con la negatividad..."

Comment