making labels

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

making labels

i am a newbie......i would like to make my own labels. can anyone recommend a good, EASY program to do that on my computer?

i am using picture it perfect 2002 a microsoft program that only runs on XP and is no longer supported....AND my XP laptop died ! accckkk ! the program will not run on windows 7 ( which i run on the desktop). i am totally bummed....that program is so easy to use and has so many options.

also, i have an HP printer....ink jet. i read that some inks are not machine washable....that i need permanent ink. how do i know which ink to buy (has to be HP) to ensure permanency???
    Pam

visit my blog for cards and quilting pictures
    http://www.mugsycreates.blogspot.com

Re: making labels

Pam, I can't help you with the ink question - only because I'm not up on printer ink and the permanency . . . I'd look at some of the fabrics available at the quilt stores - the ones that are used for printing. They will specify the type of ink needed. I have also heard that other inks can be 'set' with heat but may not be as permanent.

I suggest to you, though, that even a simple Word program on the computer can be used to create your labels. There are formatting menus which allow you to pick out borders for boxes, and a variety of special fonts can be downloaded to create something unique. Add a piece of clip art and you are set.

Good luck!!
    Sometimes, when there's a raging fire,
    it's best not to try to put it out with gasoline.

"...pal carajo con la negatividad..."

Comment

I would start out doing as Sandy suggested and try the photo paper to begin with. I usually emb. my labels but DD has made several quilts using the photo paper and our Epson inkjet and the picture are still good. i have her save her scraps for me to use as labels but haven't done anything with them yet.