Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

quilting is the best sort of therapy !!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

quilting is the best sort of therapy !!!

Hi everyone
    I thought I would share with you my story of how quilting save my sanity .
    To cut a very long story short I have been a nurse for some 32 years this year, I have always loved my job and have believed that the main purpose of my job was to protect and advocate for my patients and fellow nurses,some 15 m ago I put in a grievance regarding health and safety issues I was concerned about with regard to a manager(who is not a nurse) I was informed that my concerns would be looked at quickly and taken seriously .My main concern being the manager continued to bully and harass me and other colleagues at work placing me and patients and other staff in danger .

I waited 5 months for a response to my concerns having to chase this at every turn ,I remained at work while the manager was made aware of the grievance! this as you can imagine was very stressful .further staff also put in complaints all of which were disregarded and played down ,I started to quilt to take my mind of the stress I was suffering at work and while I was going through the lengthy grievance process.

My colleagues one by one dropped the complaints as it was so stressful and no one felt heard .I went all the way to the finally stage and spoke to the CEO .This story sadly does not have a happy ending as I started to have panic attacks 5 months ago and have been having counselling to get over the stress of it all ,
    I am still of work and am unsure if I will stay in nursing .I was under the illusion that my complaints would be taken seriously and looked at.