Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Question regarding Layer Cakes

Hi Everyone,

My name is Holly, and I will introduce myself in more detail soon. I have just a moment. I am new to quilting....actually second time starting to quilt since ten years ago. Although, I am not new to sewing.

I found a really nice 40 piece layer cake squares at a local quilt shop. The name of the fabric is Swiss Chocolate. I was just about ready to cut the squares and measured them, and I noticed that they are only 9 3/4 inches instead of 10 inches. The pattern that I want to use is the Double Slice Layer Cake Quilt. It is cut into two pieces....one 3 1/2 inch cut and one 6 1/2 inch cut. I was afraid to cut it until I find out if the issue of the square being 9 3/4 inch instead of 10 inch would make a big difference. If not, should I cut a 3 1/2 inch square or reduce it down to 3 1/4.

Please let me know what you think. I look forward to reading posts within the forum and learning. I am a former candle maker, and I am very familar with what can be learned in an awesome forum.

Thank you!

~Holly

Re: Question regarding Layer Cakes

I have not made that, so am not qualified to help you. However, from a fellow Washingtonian (Tacoma), welcome to the forum!
    pat.

No rain....no rainbows!

sigpic

If you can't be nice.....BE QUIET!

Comment

It shouldn't make a difference, just your blocks will be a bit smaller. I think you could go ahead and cut at 3.5" if it makes it easier, that part shouldn't matter. It's a very forgiving pattern
      K is for Karen 😊​..................
      Cremation - My last hope for a smokin' hot body.

Before you speak,
      T - is it TRUE?
      H - is it HELPFUL?
      I - is it INSPIRING?
      N - is it NECESSARY?
      K - is it KIND?

Comment

Originally posted by bubba View Post
        I have not made that, so am not qualified to help you. However, from a fellow Washingtonian (Tacoma), welcome to the forum!