Favorite machine

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Favorite machine

I am new to the quilting world. Have had the same machine (Singer Touch Tronic) for about 25 years. Never have had a problem with it but would like to update. Any suggestions for a new machine? Don't want to spend my life savings!

Re: Favorite machine

I would suggest that you attend a quilt expo if possible. That is a great place to try out all the different types of machines. They usually have some great specials as well. I was personally shocked by how much I fell in love with Pfaff and their IDT system. It's like the smoothest stitching! The IDT™ System guarantees the optimal feed you expect on all kinds of fabrics. Everything stays in place. Lightweight and silky fabrics don’t pucker; stripes and plaids match perfectly; curved seams are easy, with very little pinning required. The Original IDT™ System is exceptional for grasping and feeding small fabric pieces, with maximum precision and professional results. Your PFAFF® sewing machine effortlessly moves from a single layer to multiple layers and even sews over bulky seams with no hesitation.
    Have a Sewonderful Day,
    Mary T.

Comment

Mary's idea about the quilt expo is great. If you don't have one nearby, then go to every dealer in your area & start trying out different machines. I find that the way a dealer treats you when you're "just looking" is a good guide about how they will treat you when you buy the machine & need it serviced. If they are patient & not pressuring you that's a plus. Also, if you have a quilt store nearby that you like ask them for an opinion. I have a Singer featherweight & an old, old Janome Travelmate & that's how I found the mechanical genius who keeps them purring....
      There are several threads here about various brands that you could check out too
      May the road rise up to meet you...
      May the wind be always at your back...