Fabric not being cut with first try

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Fabric not being cut with first try

I am a beginner sewer. I have a olfa cutting mat and cutter. I have had these tools for about 6 months. Recently, I was not able to cut even one piece of fabric on the first try so I replaced the blades. I still could not make simple cuts so I got a new olfa 45mm cutter. Still having the same issues! I cannot get a clean single cut, not even with one fabric. So I googled and read that it may be my mat. So I turned it around and tried to cut on the unmarked side. (This side has never been used so no edges, I figured.) I am still having the same issue.

What am I doing wrong? I have watched videos & I don’t think I am cutting it wrong.

Any ideas?
    I can get another board but it is only 6 months old!
    Can someone help me?
    Thank you.

Did you check to make sure there was only 1 blade on your handle? In multiple packs it's easy to get two blades stuck together, and that will mess up your cutting.

My Olaf mat is well over 8 years old and going strong, so I don't think that would be the issue.

Welcome to the forum!

I'm sure there will be others chiming in with other ideas.
    Katrina
    “Nothing can dim the light which shines from within.” Maya Angelou

Comment

I had a hard time cutting once and it was because two blades were stuck together. Or you put it back together backwards. I've done that too. It's probably something simple like that. Don't despair 😊
      🌺 Lorie

Comment

Only one blade and the cutter is brand new from yesterday.

Comment

Maybe try watching some YT videos on how to cut fabric.

Comment

I know this going to sound stupid. I have had instances where I thought I was cutting fabric but was not because my blade was not all the way down to the mat, the middle was hung up on the ruler so it wouldn’t go down far enough.
            Carlie

Comment