What's your level of perfection?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What's your level of perfection?

I think I have too much time on my hands.

That said, when I worked as a newspaper reporter I had a sign above my desk that said something to the effect of "the perfect is the enemy of the good." Basically, it was a reminder that while I wanted to write like E.B. White or Pete Hamil, the main goal was to get a text that told the story truthfully and, on occasion, artfully. However, one couldn't let the art get in the way of the truth.

One of the things that I noticed when I go to Paducah is my belief that I'll never be that good. Right now, of course I know I'm not. When I look at my early newspaper stories, I cringe compared to what I produced toward the end of my career. I went from working at a small weekly ($165 a week and all the pride I could swallow) to contributing to the Associated Press and helping Newsweek on a story. A small-town farm boy eventually got to the point where he interviewed the man who would become President of the United States (Bill Clinton). It took time, and it took experience before I could get myself to the level I wanted to be at. I never worked for a large metropolitan newspaper, but I know I could if I had wanted to.

Logically, quilting is the same way. I'm sure my mother never thought she would win Best of Show at the local fair, but I think she was most proud of the four queen-sized quilts she created for her four children that we continue to treasure and will do so until we pass on. However, my competitive streak is such that I would like to think eventually I'll get good enough at least to enter our local fair and maybe even the state fair. Of course, I'm going to have to work, study, seek out advice here, and just mainly keep trying to get better before I could even entertain that thought. Yet in the back of my mind I keep thinking "maybe there will come a time I could enter Paducah."