Creative Grids facemask template, tweaked

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Creative Grids facemask template, tweaked

A few weeks ago I got my new CG facemask template and was excited to use it. I made a test mask for myself using the medium size. I have an average size face and nose. I wore it out shopping and it kept slipping off my nose even though I added a nose wire. I added four pleats, two on top, two on bottom but was still not the tight fit I wanted. I made a children's mask (size small) for my 4&7 yo gds and the fit was not tight enough.

I have no experience sewing clothing or nonquilting stuff so when faced with a dilemma like this my mind draws a blank. If you put too many pleats in a mask it doesn't seem to fit right and it just looks kind of shoddy. I came up with a solution that worked really great. Cut out the mask and lining on the original lines. Your first seam is the curved seam that goes over the nose in the center of the mask. I sewed that seam at 1/4 inch. Now, stop and sew a second seam 1/4 inch away from your first seam. Then use the curved edge on the template to trim off your first seam. I know this kind of wastes thread and a 1/4 inch wide strip of fabric but it was easier for me to do it this way than sewing a 5/8 inch seam accurately or adjusting the pattern, because I really wanted to use the template. Proceed to make the mask the rest of the way per the instructions. The good news is the mask is an excellent fit, including for the kids, and no wire or pleats are needed to make a snug fit.

Hope this helps you if you are fussing with trying to get a good fit. The CG template is really nice and has a great curved shape so I don't want to discourage anyone from getting it.

Thanks for the info. I found it did not fit as snug as I would like I put one fold in that was marked on the template but found it a little too loose still and was going to cut the elastic at 6 1/4 instead of 6 1/2. Will try your suggestion.