Basic questions-needle size & stitch length

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Basic questions-needle size & stitch length

What size needle and stitch length should I use when piecing together a quilt top?

Re: Basic questions-needle size & stitch length

For cotton fabric I use a size 80/12 needle, and a 2.5 stitch length.
    ~Laurie

Comment

I'm new to the issue of thread weights and needle sizes too. I have been using standard Coats & Clark Dual Duty Poly/Cotton thread both in my bobbin and in the top thread for piecing and quilting. Do I really need to use a lighter weight thread in the bobbin? Laurie would you use a larger needle for the actual quilting through the top, batting and back? I had used a 75/11 needle for my piecing and didn't think to change it when I started machine quilting the sandwich. My upper thread kept fraying and breaking so I changed to a 90/14 needle and so far so good. It does make a larger hole in my top when I am free motion stitching but I am having less problems with the top thread breaking. I have been sewing with a 2.0 stitch length for piecing and sometimes go down to 1.6 - 1.8 for stitch in the ditch quilting.
      Linda
      -its not the number of breaths you take, but the moments that take your breath away!

sigpic

Comment

I try to use all cotton thread in both the bobbin and the needle because polyester can wear on your quilt eventually. For me, a 75 needle is just to small. I use the longer stitch for the sole purpose of (ACK!!!) unsewing. It makes it easier to take a piece apart if you need to.
        I do use a 90 for quilting, less thread problems. And I really find that using the same thread top and bottom eliminates thread breakage issues. As you, most machines have a mind of their own when it comes to thread, so I always try to do a small project with scraps of what I am doing first, so I know what temprament the machine is going to have with the thread and fabric and batting.