quilt looked better in my imagination than in real life

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

quilt looked better in my imagination than in real life

Finished this quilt top last night, and I'm really not happy with it. It was a great idea in my head, but then when it all went together, it just didn't work. Has that ever happened to anyone? This is the first thing I've made that I haven't been happy with. I'm pretty new to quilting, so I guess I just don't have a good quilters vision yet.

too-bright-quilt.jpg

Re: quilt looked better in my imagination than in real life

Yep. I am working on one right now. Everything I do with it, I just don't really like. But I'm bound and determined to finished it, it's been a UFO for six months.

Your quilt is going to be fine. I like the colors. Once it's quilted and bound you will probably like it again. The vision is still there, it just needs finished.
    Diana Grey

Comment

I think even more experienced quilters will admit that occasionally they have a quilt that just didn't match up with their vision. I know I have! Sometimes it just happens. Keep on quilting.......some things take time to learn and when it doesn't quite meet your ideal....it will still bring warmth and love to someone.

Comment

All the time!!!,,, i just re work,,, making a table runner or using another color... but i never say "die"...)
        "Each day well-lived and Happy;
        that's all there is to Life!"

Comment

That happens to all of us. Finish it up and go on to something that makes you happy.
          sigpicwww.whisperofrose.blogspot.com

Scottie Mom Barb

Comment

That has happened to me more than once. I usually use them for charity quilts, as said above, it will keep someone nice and warm.

Comment

I see a child in that quilt's future. Bright & cheery even though it didn't turn out as you imagined it would. Look at the practice you've gotten. The piecing looks very good and that's an accomplishment in itself.

Comment