Border Help?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Border Help?

I'm kind of stuck on what sort of border to put on this quilt top. Here is the photo where I'm testing block placement and before I sew everything together I just want to make sure I have the right border in mind:

I have jelly roll strips leftover from this design and my original idea was to do a small 1" inner border of a light fabric to kind of "frame it" and then to do 2" half square triangle units around the entire area with cornerstones. I'd then have a large 6-8" outer border around the whole thing of a multi-color floral print of the same fabric line.

Thoughts?
    Katie's Quilting Corner - Blog, Podcast and More!
    Don't miss Free Pattern Friday posts!
    Pinterest

Re: Border Help?

I love this!! Very pretty colors!

If it was me....and I am no expert by any means!...I would do a 1" border in a lighter color and a larger border of a darker color. I dont think I'd do the HST border, I think it would be to busy and would detract from the original design.

But...since there are no quilt police...you do whatever it is YOU like!!
    ~Mary
    As ye sew, so shall ye rip.

Comment

Originally posted by mrswindy4 View Post
      I love this!! Very pretty colors!

If it was me....and I am no expert by any means!...I would do a 1" border in a lighter color and a larger border of a darker color. I dont think I'd do the HST border, I think it would be to busy and would detract from the original design.

But...since there are no quilt police...you do whatever it is YOU like!!
      I didn't even think of it distracting from the design - good point.

Now I just need to find a good tutorial on mitered borders so I can do them for the first time.
      Pinterest

Comment