My 1st quilt in progress - Double Slice Layer Cake

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

My 1st quilt in progress - Double Slice Layer Cake

I got the squares done. I lined them up on the table for placement. I am still moving squares around. This gives a general idea. I have not sewn the squares together yet. I had to cut squares and sew them together and then cut again and sew them together. It is a busy pattern but fun. It is whimsical unlike my house but I saw these layer cake squares on sale at the local quilt shop and loved the color combination. The picture does not do the pattern or the color justice. It took on more of a yellow hue in the picture than it does in person. I still have to figure out what border to use and then after I sew the square together in rows I have to put the batting and backing on and then I have to figure out how to quilt stitch. I have never done it before.

I keep seeing things I need to switch. I need to switch those two next to the one on the far right corner, first row. Not sure. Those stripes will throw me.

Fabric is Swiss Chocolate - Layer Cake (40 pieces)
    Attached Files
    Last edited by HollyinWA; February 16, 2014, 09:54 PM.

Re: My 1st quilt in progress - Double Slice Layer Cake

I love the way you are putting this together. Isn't this fun.
    SandyWhite
    Ocala, Florida
    http://handpiecing.blogspot.com

Comment

It looks really pretty. You have the colors nicely spaced through the top. Great job.
      sigpicAnita G.

Comment

Originally posted by SandyWhite View Post
        I love the way you are putting this together. Isn't this fun.
        Thank you! Yes, is sure is fun! I am not sure how I am going to do with the quilting part. I have never done any kind of quilting stiches before. I better get to practicing. I do not want to so anything on this when it is ready to be quilted until I know a little bit of what I am doing.

Comment

Originally posted by MomGram View Post