Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

My Friday Night Project

Hi friends . . .

I thought I would show you my Friday night project. It's a heart-shaped potholder. The design is my own.

I needed a small gift for a company retreat AND I needed a container to hold several slips of paper. I came up with the quilted heart idea, thinking I could put the slips down in the pocket of the potholder, then give the potholder away.

I bought a charm pack of vintage prints a long time ago and finally figured out a use for it. (Yay me!) I like it so much I don't want to give it away -- but, of course, I will. Since I'm giving it away, I stitched on one of my quilt labels.

I'm a new quilter so it took me all evening to make this (about three hours), but you can see it is patchwork and quilted even inside the pocket. I have never done curved binding before so it was challenging. I welcome any tips you can provide.

All in all, I think it's not bad for a Friday night's work. And I really enjoyed it. I see potholders as gifts in my friends and family's future.

I can't even begin to express how much I love quilting! I had no idea I could be this creatively fulfilled.

potfront.jpg

potinside.jpg

potback.jpg
    Joan, aka the Unaquilter

"I've never been to heaven, but I've been to Oklahoma."

Learn more about me and my quilts at my blog:

http://debtofgratitude.wordpress.com/

Re: My Friday Night Project

Joan it is darling! A very clever idea for a practical and nice gift.

I am curious, did you use a bias binding on this? With those tight curves, bias binding works great. I just made a round placemat and finished it with bias binding. The advice I got from the designer was to NOT STRETCH the binding as I sewed the binding on to the item in my first seam. When I curved it over the edge, it laid perfectly flat, no tucks and I could sew the second seam very smoothly. Worked like a charm for me.

Comment