I finally made a tote!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I finally made a tote!

After looking at all the cute totes you guys have been working on, I decided to make one today. It was alot of fun, it went very quick. Of course I learned a few things:
    1. I always forget to figure in seams--so my bag ended up smaller than I wanted--It was going to be a gym tote--but too small--so it's just a tote.

2. Put stabilizer in the handles--they were flimsy so the stitching was an after thought. I thought it might make them a little stiffer--if helped, but stabilizer was needed.

All in all, I'm pretty pleased with it.

Lisa

"Make it your ambition to lead a quiet life and attend to your own business and work with your hands...." 1 Thessalonians 4:11

Re: I finally made a tote!

It is absolutely gorgeous! The colors are so sunny and bright (it's a blizzard here today so the colors look especially wonderful )
    I am a beginner and have made plenty of mistakes. It's how I seem to learn the best!
    Now - on to the next one!
    Mary :icon_hi:

Love is the thread that mends worn hearts.

Comment

What a great looking tote! Good job!
      There's still time to change the road you're on - Led Zeppelin, "Stairway to Heaven"

Comment

Wow! I love it! So pretty!!

Comment

very pretty. i made one too and thought next time i will use stabilizer in the handles they were to flimsy. also on the tutorial on the table blog. is that what you used. it says to do the button latch the same way as the handles. how wide did you make the button latch? I didn't think it should be as wide as the handles
          Patrice

Comment

I cut the handles 5" and the button latch 2.5". I really wanted the handles to be a little wider. One of the tutorials I looked at called for fusible fleece. I've never heard of it. Might look for it the next time I go to Joann's.
            Lisa