Sharing Our Quilts - Day 2

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Sharing Our Quilts - Day 2

I may as well admit it right now: I love piecing quilts. I love the feel of cotton fabric and the aroma from pressing it. I love rotary cutting. I love planning out colors and watching blocks come together. But how I hate basting a quilt sandwich! And, so, I have a large collections of finished quilt tops, not so many finished quilts. Today I share with you an unquilted top, mostly because it was so important in my quilting journey.

It was time to quit being "self taught" and to take a class. My LQS was offering a Block of the Month program using sumptuous Asian fabrics that I simply couldn't pass up. I really didn't know what I was getting myself into, which turned out to be a good thing.

The BOM turned out to be an exercise in skill building. We started with the "Chopstick" pattern which was really just a 9" nine-patch constructed from 3" rail fence patches. Each month, we made a slightly more difficult block, from baskets to fused applique to drunkard's path and finally needle-turned applique. Each block was given an Asian-themed name instead of its traditional name, but I was too much of a newbie to know that blocks even HAD traditional names.

AsianBOM1.jpg
    Quick note: I thought that A-tisket, A-tasket baskets were wildly inappropriate on an Asian themed quilt, so I left off the handles, sewed on seed pearls to look like rice, and added chopsticks.