A lovely Fall Afternoon hello

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

A lovely Fall Afternoon hello

I was walking around the back forty for a breath of very brisk fall air. Our little garden at this time of year is a maze of tall brown weeds, weak vines from tomatoes and lovely green ground ivy. In one disused large washtub where the patty pan squash resided this past summer was a glorious array of clover. Pretty little clover leaves all clumped together and oddly enough, a bloom or two. Such a sweet sight I was thrilled to see!

I stood there gazing and a song ran through my head- I bet you've heard it "I'm looking over a 4 leaf clover that I overlooked before . . ." And so, the melody ran through my mind even though I couldn't remember the lyrics. Max, my Sheltie arrived at my heels when he heard me in my raspy voice humming. While surveying the clover I was overjoyed to find not one but two 4 leaf clovers!

I am not good with statistics or actually, math in general - which explains a lot about my quilt making skills I think. That is to say I am fair to middlin' when it comes to most things but I am the type of person who sees the big picture, the finished results. I let the details sort themselves out as I go. It would be so much nicer if I could wrap my mind around the itty bitty fractions better. I seem to have to re invent the wheel each time I work on a new pattern. It doesn't help to remind me to follow the directions - too much of that math. I look at the pictures and start from there. My brain works that way and I reckon that is part of my peculiar personality. My tops are never quite squared or even. My family looks at each as a masterpiece, their love is so grand and forgiving.

Still, that clover. Now THAT is a masterpiece. I kept one for me and kept one to share with you. Because enough though I am not good with cyphering or statistics and such, I know each one of my precious ones here are one in a million.