Any clothes sewers out there?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Any clothes sewers out there?

I was wondering if anyone here on the quilting forum is also a clothes sewer..makes clothes. I have a question.

I have been sewing for nearly 50 years and I can't believe I am asking this question, but I haven't done clothes in about 13 years so I am rather rusty. I am needing to make my grand daughters some skirts for a little function they are having. They just need an elastic waist. If memory serves, I think I used to make them by just taking a yard of fabric, put a casing along one edge and draw the elastic through, then hem. Also for a waistband skirt... a yard of fabric, cut a waistband (waist size plus about 4 inches for button tab or just waist size and 2 inches for zipper), gather fabric and sew to waistband, then hem.
    It sounds so simple I am thinking I am missing something! Am I?

Also...if not here...does anyone know of a good clothes sewing forum? Looks like I might be getting back into clothes sewing and I am rusty and the talk and helps and all would do me a world of good to get "back into shape".
    Cheri

www.fabricandmemories.blogspot.com

Re: Any clothes sewers out there?

I sew costumes, and I think you have the process for the skirts pretty well in mind. I do a combination of elastic waists or on waistbands. Most women wear a skirt no longer that 24-27" so you might not even need a full yard. Depending on the size of your girls, you might want to make them fuller. For a little girl, 42" would be wide enough, but for a bigger girl, you might want to use two widths of fabric to make it fuller.

Comment

I sew children's clothes (I have a few pictures in my album) I like to make tiered twirl skirts. I take the waist measurement and add half for the waist. Then each tier keep adding half more, gather and sew. I never used a pattern. If you look on Etsy under twirl skirts there are lots of ideas,