Dear Miss Manners....

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Dear Miss Manners....

Ok, no I won't write to Miss Manners, but I will ask you all for advice ( I trust you more than Miss Manners)

I am an Accounting professional, part of my job is to assist our clients and their bookkeepers when they have accounting questions.

About a year ago, one of my clients ( I'll call him Pete) sold his business.

Pete's former bookkeeper (I'll call Kate), whom I had a "friendly working relationship, but not a friendship with", is now working for a totally different company, Kate, while working for Pete was accustom to me being available for questions most anytime, as Pete never complained about the consulting charges for assisting her.

Kate has contacted me on several occasions in the past couple of weeks to ask a "quick" question. The first time, I assisted her for an hour over the phone. Mind you I can't bill her employer, as they are not under contract with us. The next time she texted me asking me to call as she had a quick question, I texted her back, telling her that I was really busy with "clients" all day. Since then, she has texted me several times in the past couple of weeks asking me to call her when I have "a moment" to answer a question. History has told me that her "moments" are never less than an hour.

How do I politely tell her, sorry I only consult paying clients?

(sorry for being long winded)

well we work for money, you too. just tell her you must take paying clients before other's questions! good luck.

Comment

I think you should email her (or text) and explain that your services, even "quick questions", are a billable service, and that you cannot answer any more of her questions unless her new employer establishes a contract with you. Then stand your ground. It's kind, it's professional, and it's the truth. And if she gets angry, well, let her be angry.

Comment

• MRoy
        MRoy commented
        Editing a comment