Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hi from Oxford, England!

Hi y'all!
    I'm Michelle, expat wife of a Brit who dragged me, kicking and screaming from the warmth of central Texas, all the way to England.

We have two girls, almost 4 and 8. I used to work as a pedi nurse in Texas. I now work part time for a small charity here. When there's spare time, I enjoy being busy at home. I love to bake and sew things for the girls. I am in the habit of getting excited about a new hobby and then diving in headfirst - meaning lots of learning-as-I-go! I almost always have some cute bunting in progress (because it's England! And we love bunting!!) I have even been lucky enough to sell some!

I first got excited about quilting when one of my patients was a 12 year old girl who lived in a self-contained community (similar to Mennonites, I'd guess). She was a quilter, and at night during her treatments, she would show me how she did it. (I went to their annual exhibition weekend. She sold a king-size double wedding ring, hand quilted, for $1500. Yeah, 12 years old. !!)

When I had my girls, I spent my pregnancy downtime hand-quilting around the pictures on baby panels for each of them. Again, I just jumped in, no classes or instruction. Probably not the easiest way to learn, but I am happy with how they turned out. I am great at burying knots! A few months ago, a friend asked me to do the binding on a pre-quilted baby panel. I found a group of ladies who meet once a month at a cafe nearby, and took the whole thing in to them for advice. I was totally expecting a bunch of little old ladies full of all sorts of experience to share. And that's how I found M* - they ALL pointed my to Jenny's binding tutorial!!