Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Newby from Texas with a Serious Problem...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newby from Texas with a Serious Problem...

Hello Everyone!

I am new to quilting, but am eager to learn. I've completed a couple of small lap quilts and one king size quilt that I pieced but did not quilt. I am presently working on a couple of UFOs that I promised myself to finish this year.

I also have a problem that someone might be able to help me with. After being inspired by all the wonderful tutorials on the site, I purchased 2 layer cakes as well as additional yardage to complete a quilt. When the fabric came in I was so excited that I put the fabric away until I finished the quilt I was working on. Well... now... I have NO IDEA what quilt I had in mind when I purchased my fabric!!! Now... don't laugh. I've gone through the tutorials and still... WHAT ON EARTH WAS I THINKING when I purchased TWO layer cakes of the same fabric to create my quilt? Does anyone have any idea which of Jenny's beautiful designs can be made with 2 layer cakes of the same material along with additional yardage (I'm sure for the borders)

You may stop laughing now....

Re: Newby from Texas with a Serious Problem...

This happens fairly often. I don't have a solution for the fabric you have on hand. I'm sure you can come up with something wonderful to make, even if it's not your original plan.

I prepare a large zip bag when I place a large fabric order and in that bag I save the printed PDF from the tutorial (if one is available) or the magazine/pattern/picture of the future quilt. When the new fabric arrives I pop it in the bag and save everything together.

I have to do things like this because I have so much going on at the same time. I also keep a notepad where I keep, Notes From Me To Me.
    Last edited by Bubby; January 2, 2017, 09:57 AM.
    sigpicwww.whisperofrose.blogspot.com

Scottie Mom Barb

Comment