Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New Member Today

Hello All,

Just joined. The forum looks interesting and I hope to return often. I'm fairly new to quilting and machine embroidery...have been doing it for two years now. I consider myself to be an adventurous beginner. I'm not big into designing my own quilts just yet. I feel more comfortable having a pattern and then choosing my own fabrics. Before I picked up quilting, I was (still am) a crocheter and knitter. Don't do much of that these days although I'm part of a group of women at work who have joined forces to crochet/knit baby items for the local hospital. I've made a few baby quilts for them as well. That's how I actually got started in quilting. A co-worker inspired me and I've been quilting ever since. I tend to gravitate more towards the small quilts, wall-hangings to twin size. I think the reason for my sticking with smaller quilts is because I prefer to do my own quilting. It just doesn't seem like my creation if I turn it over to someone else to do the quilting. Plus, it can get quite costly to have someone else do it. One day I hope to have my own long arm but I don't have the space for it. My son needs to move out so I can have his bedroom. I've already taken over my other son's bedroom and made it into my "craft room". I dream about knocking out part of the wall between the two to make a doorway. My DH says I'll have to bury him in the backyard so we'll never move into something larger. I'll have to make do with what I have. The one thing I'm working on now is trying to learn EQ6. I found a free quilt pattern on Fons & Porter's website and am having the most difficult time in building the quilt layout in EQ6. Maybe there's a discussion thread here for quilting software so I'll search to find some of you who might be able to help me. I look forward to reading more discussions and talking with some of you. Happy Quilting!!!

ak3e
    "She who dies with the most fabric, wins!!"