Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Newbie here with some questions! Minky Baby Quilt!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie here with some questions! Minky Baby Quilt!

Hello all I am from Delaware with some questions to all of you Great Quilter's out there!!!!
    I have never joined a Forum before but I have read a lot of your Wonderful threads so thought I would give it a try.
    Ok so I sure hope some one can help me with this as I didn't think through before starting these Baby Quilts.
    So here is my situation: First I found some really cute Charm Packs (cotton) and I thought these would really look cute with a Minky Backing! Well, like I said I did not think this through UGH!
    I didn't pre-wash the Charms because as most of you know putting charms in the washer is NOT a good Idea! So, I called a good friend of mine that has quilted for years and she said to put the quilt top together made from the charm packs and then pre-wash it before finishing the quilt with the Minky Backing because Minky doesn't shrink. I have assembled the quilt top but now I am questioning myself????
    So should I pre-wash and iron out the quilt top and then bind and quilt the Minky Backing (with batting) on or should I sew on the Minky then wash it. I am so confused!!!! HELP!!!!
    Shella

Re: Newbie here with some questions! Minky Baby Quilt!

I would not wash an unfinished quilt top. I made a baby rag quilt using flannel charms for one side and minky for the other. Did not pre wash . I have washed it and it looks AOK .
    "Never stop believing that fighting for what is right is worth it"
    Hillary Clinton

Comment

Martha, Thank you for your response. So are you saying to assemble the whole quilt and then wash it? I am just worried about the cotton shrinking and the minky not shrinking???? Would it look ok?
      Shella

Comment

Originally posted by Shella View Post