i'm new,too

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

i'm new,too

I just joined the site a few days ago, and I'm having fun! I'm not very good with the computer stuff, but one thing I know how to do really well is order fabric and things for quilting, on-line. I love MSQS. I have been quilting for 30 or so years and I teach college classes for quilters. My biggest passion is helping others learn and love quilting. My students would tell you my favorite word is "accuracy". I preach it and teach it, not because I believe in perfection but because I believe if we aim for accuracy we'll come a lot closer than if we don't aim for it. Does that make sense to anyone? I don't just preach it tho, I teach the little tricks that bring us closer. The biggest turn off to new quilters is to work hard and long, invest money, and have something in the end that won't lie flat enough to quilt. Then they have to spend hours trying to fix it or quit. The old saw "It'll quilt out" just doesn't cut it with me. I am not a perfect quilter either. I don't teach perfection just "striving for for accuracy". Wow, I got carried away with my soap-box. Sorry! I live in a town of nine thousand in south central Illinois. The closest quilt shop is 40 miles away. Until four years ago, we lived in West St. Louis Co. Mo.. We retired and moved back home. You can see why I've become really good at on-line quilt shopping. Hope you all will be my friends!

Re: i'm new,too

I used to watch Kaye Wood on PBS and her shows targeted "pointless people" with part of the lessons as making points match was not a problem and other shows for "pointed people". My mom was a bearcat about corners and points matching. I think accuracy in cutting helps us achieve this and rotary cutters have revolutionized the cutting process and accuracy. Haste is not a word or speed we should ever get into.

Welcome and your comments are true.

Sue

Comment