Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hello from Hawaii

Aloha Everyone,

I'm new to this site and love watching all the videos and have learned a lot. I just started quilting since December and I enjoy it very much. I haven't learned to machine quilt yet. I have to practice but I was wondering how easy is it to do free form quilting on a regular sewing machine? The videos make it look easy. Does anyone have any good ideas?

Re: Hello from Hawaii

Hello Pineapple from New Hampshire! Welcome to the forum. This is a GREAT place to learn and get inspired. I have been quilting for 20 years and have just now begun to do free motion quilting. It can definitely be done on a regular sewing machine. Do you feed dogs drop down, because that is essential to FMQ. Otherwise you can cover them, but that can create drag which makes it more difficult. FMQ requires lots and lots of practice. That is the best tip you'll get anywhere. Work on a small swatch of quilting that can be thrown away until you are comfortable. There are great sites online you can go to for more instructions. Here is probably my favorite: http://www.patsythompsondesigns.com/free-video/ There are many videos on this site. Start at the beginning and go through them all.

Good luck to you, and again, welcome!
    When life throws you scraps, make a quilt! :icon_bigsmile:

Comment

Welcome from Vermont! You came to the right place for learning and inspiration. Enjoy!
      ;)Nancy

I got a sewing machine for my husband. Good trade, huh!?!

Comment

Welcome! I haven't tried FMQ yet, but because of the encouragement and learning I've received on this forum, I will be trying it!

Comment

Welcome from Georgia. Hope you enjoy the site.

Comment

Welcome from Missouri. You will have so much fun learning on this site. I've always wanted to make a Hawaiian quilt. They are some of the most beautiful quilts I've ever seen. It's good to have you with us. Barb
            sigpicwww.whisperofrose.blogspot.com