Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Greetings~

Hi!

My name is Brent, and I'm probably one of two male members here. I'm a 24 year old web and user interface designer by day, and an artist by night. I dabble in many mediums - photography, paint, fiber, woodworking, jewelry, metal, glass, illustration - really anything you can think of, I've done it. I'll do something for a few weeks, then move on to something else, but I always end up coming back to those unfinished projects and getting right back into it. Working with my hands has always been a release for me.

I'm an intermediate sewer, making things like bags, reupholstering furniture, and doing minor alterations for my sister and nieces. I know a little about quilting, but I've never actually made a full quilt from start to finish. I've made a few pinwheel potholders and smaller patchwork projects, but nothing full scale. I'm self-taught, having stuggled for years using an entry-level Singer, and after reading dozens of negative reviews about how unreliable it was, put it back in it's case and gave up sewing for a while. I took the required home-ec courses in high school, where you fiddle around haphazardly on a big industrial Husqvarna trying not to sew through your fingers, knowing nothing about seam allowance or thread tension or even how a lock stitch even happens on a sewing machine, so I definitely learned the hard way.