Hello from the Ozarks of Missouri

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hello from the Ozarks of Missouri

Good morning. I am new to quilting, love love love it!! I have an emergency question!! I have been given the opportunity to purchase an older singer short arm machine with a 12 " foot frame. It's in good shape. It comes with an extra head. $1000.00. First, It's huge and I only have a detached garage to keep it. Second, I just got into quilting I haven't ever quilted a quilt. I have to let the lady know in a few hours if I want the set up or not. I need some insight from you. Help! I couldn't sleep last night. Lol

Re: Hello from the Ozarks of Missouri

It may be a huge learning curve to get it going successfully. I'm not sure about the machines, and you say there are two heads? How long is the arm of the machine? And does it have stitch regulation or no? It is harder to learn without stitch regulation, but most good quilters don't use it. If you have the room, the money and the time to spend learning, it might end up being a very sweet deal. There will most probably be frustration in the road ahead learning how to use it successfully, go into it with that in mind. Good luck and let us know what you end up doing.

Once you get the frame set up, you can use any machine on it. You could upgrade in the future to a longer arm machine. With a short arm machine, you can only quilt about 2-4" of the quilt at a time. This is frustrating to do much pattern work in quilting.
    Last edited by Jean Sewing Machine; March 29, 2014, 05:56 AM.

Comment

This is a decision only you can make. If I was in your position I would decline to buy the machine. There will be other good deals along the way and later you will be able to assess and compare various machines and their features. Who knows, you may become a hand quilter or find a great LAQer who can do a beautiful job quilting for you. Just my two cents...good luck. Let us know what you decide.