Hello from Ohio

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hello from Ohio

Hello Quilters, happy quilting. I am Vikki, a retired firefighter/paramedic from central Ohio, my husband and I are empty nesters. We have four children, two girls, two boys; ten grandchildren: two girls, eight boys. We are blessed with a special needs granddaughter whom what believed not to survive beyond birth. God gave us a miracle and she is so awesome.

I began sewing when I was around 10 years old, clothes for my Barbie. I graduated to sewing for myself while going to school; then married and it was time to sew for my children to save money. I added formal attire to my abilities, including bridal work. I had a sewing shop/tailor shop and added upholstery work and continued for several years. We moved to central Ohio and I did not reestablish my shop and took a break from sewing.

A friend introduced me to quilting. It intrigued me. Another friend invited me to a quilting expo in Cincinnati. Oh my....... I had so much fun taking classes, trying a new machine, tools, patterns, fabrics.......wow. I left there with so many goodies I almost needed to ship my luggage home or strap it to the top of the car. I even left there with a brand new machine, which I had to convince my husband why I needed another one when I had four sitting in my sewing room. Needless to say, I was hooked. I love quilting. I am learning so many new things, so exciting. While watching YouTube tutorials for my new machine I ran across Jenny's tutorials for quilts. Well...... now I want to make even more quilts, for my sister, my children, grandchildren, throw quilts, etc. When they are tired of getting quilts, I'll donate them because I don't see me stopping quilting.

I am really impressed with the backstory of MSQC. I've added to my bucket list going there for a retreat or more than one retreat. I know it will be so much fun. See you soon in Hamilton.

Vikki