Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hello from Michigan!

Greetings all,
    I am new to quilting and super excited to dive in. I was making masks with my grandmother's Singer Stylist 457 and decided to buy a new machine. After some research and help from our local sewing center, I settled on the Pfaff Quilt Ambition 630 and I'm pretty happy so far with the exception of a little thread bunching I am getting at the bottom of the beginning of every seam (see pic below). If anyone has any advice for me on this, I would appreciate it!

IMG_0915.HEIC.jpeg

Welcome from El Paso Texas! Not sure since it's at the end. What are you doing at the end that's different? Back stitching? It doesn't look like your not sewing off the edge of the fabric. I usually see off the edge and back stitch if needed. Hope that helps!

Comment

Welcome from Colorado! I lived in MI for 15 of my growing up years. I attended 1 yr. of HS & 1 yr. of jr. college at Spring Arbor; now it's a university. I haven't been back since my 10 yr. class reunion.

My only suggestion on your stitching is to make sure you pull your thread straight back from the presser foot when you start to sew. Are you using a scrap of fabric as a leader? It's not something to stress about; no one will see those threads inside the quilt.

Congrats. on the new machine. Welcome to the world of quilting. In addition to Jenny's tutorials, there are many others out there on the web. I enjoy Donna Jordan's videos as well as others.

Comment

Welcome from Michigan!
        I can't answer your question about your sewing machine issue! Sorry
        Jacqueline ( Sugar ) Dorer-Russell
        http:\\www.sugarssmilinpapercrafts.BlogSpot.com

"I miss the me I was when you were here"

Comment

Hello from Southern California!